top of page

Sidewalk Chalk and Digital Innovations


Innovation occurs when we see a need and strive to enhance the

https://prezi.com/view/bdZGNhNO2sEDqp1v3SJq/

world around us. When I first worked on my original innovation plan I wasn't sure which direction I wanted to go but I knew there was a need for change. I wanted to learn more about and adapt the Flipped blended learning model for the virtual school setting. At the time this was the only innovation I could see working, however I have now come to the realization that there was more than one direction I could have gone. I'm going to stick with my original plan but learning about other innovations has helped me focus more on the changes that need to happen in order for the flipped model to be successful in the virtual setting.

"I had to realize that there are many innovations that may work, but I have to strive to find what will prepare my students for their future."

I remember when my children were younger and we would use sidewalk chalk to create pictures in our driveway. Eventually other children in the neighborhood would come over and I would see coloration start to occur and then games would start being created with the chalk. Some traditional games were created hopscotch, four square, and some games made up. They would even continue to think about ideas at school.

Then it was time to share with them the possibilities of what could

Tracy Lee Stum- click on image to see Portfolio

be created. I saw their eyes grow with awe and the became even more inspired as they ran off to start the design process again.

Digital innovation in education reminds me of the simplicity of sidewalk chalk. Innovation is not required we can keep education the same and continue to play with what is safe and what we know. We can keep the classroom teacher lead and prepare our students to pass standardized test or we can innovate and leap from ordinary to extraordinary.

Edgar Mueller

We can prepare our students for a future filled with unlimited possibilities, open their minds to independent learning, technology, collaboration, and creativity. Improvements in education are occurring all over the world. Innovation introduce something new and moves us towards improvements. It is imperative that we look at a variety of innovations and learn from what is working around the globe, so we can broaden our education systems and help create a successful future for the next generation.

We find innovations that may not always include mobile technology such as the floating school in Africa and Bangladesh or Denmark where one school is a cube made of class in hopes to develop flexible mindsets. Then we have the other extreme where mobile technology is in the hands of every student like the Steve Jobs schools that started in the Netherlands or the Essa Academy in England that is considered the paperless classroom due to the cutting-edge innovations and digital materials they are utilizing. Through my research I have found that the flipped blended learning model is the best option for our online school. The schools that are ready for the future are using technological innovations, the teachers are the facilitators instead of the sole resource for information, and the students are learning how to become independent creative collaborators.

Does Blended Learning Work?

Using the flipped model in our virtual setting can assure that students get the very best of both worlds they get the teacher support and the technological advancements to enhance learning.

However this model is not without its challenges. We have to assure that all our students have access to the internet, we have to find a way to limit the amount of screen time and allow for the time commitment it will take for teachers to create videos or research resources. The positives far outweigh the challenges, and the consequences of not stepping into this model leave our students falling behind. This model will allow us to give our students some background knowledge before coming to class so our time spent together can be spent digging deeper into discussions and collaboration. We can use our technological resources to get instant feedback and this also assures that all students will get the opportunity to participate.

By researching the innovations in advanced societies and societies who have found innovation in the trees, I have become more inspired to innovate right where I am. I have had to realize that there are many innovations that may work, but I have to strive to find what will prepare my students for their future. I do not want to wait for education to catch up to our students needs but I want to innovate based on my students needs for tomorrow.


To view the slides click HERE

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page