top of page

5320 That's a Wrap

...it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done!” ― Sylvester Stallone, Rocky Balboa

This journey has been long and personal. As stated in my last blog post, my journey has been filled with many winding roads and ups and downs. It has felt like training for a marathon but with many more personal battles and rewards. My cheering section is small, but my determination is immense.

I can not talk about this journey without mentioning my past because without the backstory, the finish line seems uninspired. I want each professor to know a difference was made because of your investment.

This odd image to the right is a significant figure hidden in my home. It is about the ugliest tchotchke I have ever seen, and ordinarily, I would not share this figure with anyone. However, at this moment, it seems that the story should be told as to why I hold onto this hideous figurine after 20+ years.

I come from a family where education was not and isn't valued, and belittling was a way of communication. Higher education was never encouraged in my family, as a matter of fact, I never heard the words university, college, degree, career, or any similar words come out of the mouths anyone in my family.

I had worked at Chuck-E-Cheese since before legal age and believe it or not, they had a Chuck-E-Cheese University at our location in Arlington, and it was also a manager training facility. I was just a teenage worker, but I would help train the managers in the daily task. This was the path my dad suggested I take; I knew this was not the path for me.

I continued to train hard and work harder, so I could play club volleyball. Then it happened, the spring of my senior year I was approached by a University scout.

I was invited to go on several college visits, and I would arrange days with the school and travel alone to the tours. I eventually received a full ride to a Division II school. On my departure, my brother gave me this ugly figurine to remind me daily why I'm in school and to help keep me motivated when work, school, and sports would start to feel overwhelming.

This ugly guy is still in my eye view.

During this journey, I made some sweet connections, and though my connects were virtual, they got me through some tough times. The "funcilitators" were there to remind me to stop overthinking everything and to keep the learning authentic. While the instructors were there to keep me on track.

There were many times I struggled with self-doubt, and each professor was helpful, encouraging, and allowed me to express my ideas in a way that allowed me to grow and learn. So many times, I would laugh a little when listening to a response or reading an email. More than a couple of times I could hear in the tone of the feedback that the direction I had chosen was not where y'all had anticipated the project going, but there was never a time that I didn't feel encouraged and supported.

I wish I could have gone to graduation and hugged each instructor that was able to attend.

I want you to know that not all of us had the support of our local peers or family, and as one of those students, I was dependent on your feed-forward and encouragement. Thank you for COVA and for your investment. THANK YOU!!

As I wrap up this journey and prepare for the next, I will not forget this program and COVA +CSLE. I took something from each course and tried to integrate lessons learned regularly into my daily interactions with my peers and students. I'm so blessed I was part of this fantastic program, and I feel prepared for the next adventure.


To view the slides click HERE

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page